cassy_g: (Default)
[personal profile] cassy_g
Yesterday went well. I got up and fielded about thirty emails before I called it quits for the day. I am kind of at the point where I realized that the convention is going to happen in spite of whether I manage to do a good job or not. This isn't to say that I am not going to continue to do a good job, but I think I am finally able to seperate myself screwing up as an acceptable option.

That being said, I went out to the Border Pagans meeting last evening. They were discussing what apparently a lot of people consider a controversial and possibly volatile subject.

Personally, I found it to be neither. The actual subject isn't so important as the fact that the presenter came across in a very careful and considerate way. I think this helped diffuse any potential problem that might have been there. It's a very fascinating perspective, one I don't happen to share, but that's ok too. I enjoy learning more about many subjects.

All in all a good time, and very deep thought provoking evening.

Minor panic attack that evolved into a major panic attack when I got home last night though.

I grabbed the mail on the way to the house, and had a certified letter from the IRS! Ack! It turned out not to be a big deal, my payment was a week late, so the notice and the payment crossed in the mail. Until they opened at 7:00 am though, I was pretty much a basket case.

This is something in myself that I can not understand, and until I understand it, and the cause and effect, I am not sure I can solve it. And yes, it definately needs to be solved.

In any case, I knew I had made the payment, and I knew that they had already cashed the check. I knew very logically that it was more than likely just that the two had criss crossed in the mail. However, when it came down to it, my heart was racing, and I couldn't stop the anxiety associated with it.

Now, I do have to say, some of it may be attributed to the fact that I was pretty tired, and I was already in a low tolerance as far as being able to handle stress when this happened. I am sure that didn't help matters at all.

On top of all that, I think I came across as a stand-offish pain in the arse alternating with complete flakeyness in a post to the Dragon*Con LJ. (See it here: They Finally Posted the Day Pass Prices)

It was suppose to be light hearted and a fun way of looking at the complications of running a party for 20,000+ people. Blew that.

And on that note, I am going to bed.

Date: 2003-08-07 02:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jollyroger13.livejournal.com
I know what you mean about having Important Possibly Threatening Letters From Powerful Entities....such as the IRS.

Maybe it's because people like us take our responsibilities VERY seriously, and even a fleeting thought that something is wrong causes extreme, knee jerk reaction panic.

Well it's just a theory. : )

Date: 2003-08-07 03:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dire-epiphany.livejournal.com
Good theory. :)

Money and stuff like that totally stresses me anyway. What I need is a third party (because David definately can't handle this stuff) that will pay my bills for me and give me money every week. Of course, I would want more than they would want to give to me, so that won't work. Still, it would be nice. :)

Date: 2003-08-07 05:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chalice66.livejournal.com
Read your message and I think you defended the Con prices admirably. Your first point was also extremely valid. It's only $75 if you're a procrastinating, immature, unable to plan anything in advance twit. (i.e. most of the people attending.) Which in the long run works out better for D*Con anyway. So everybody wins, just don't bitch cause you waited too long.

Date: 2003-08-07 12:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dire-epiphany.livejournal.com
Thanks! I am feeling better about it now. At the time I don't know, I think I was just tired and whiney :D Thanks though for the support!

Date: 2003-08-07 07:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ghostgrrl.livejournal.com
You didn't come off that way at all. I would have said nearly exactly the same things had I not been late to work at the time.

Brava.

Date: 2003-08-07 12:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dire-epiphany.livejournal.com
Thanks, it just felt like I was possibly being snide, even though I hadn't meant to be that way. Amazing what getting some sleep can do for your perspective. :D

Oh, and I saw your post about how expensive it would be if it were a free con with pay as you go. Very good point! :)

Date: 2003-08-07 11:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eugie.livejournal.com
Thank goodness the IRS note was just a matter of crossed letters. We've had something like that happen to us before. The IRS thought we'd paid late; we knew we hadn't, but there was much stressing over it until we reached a person who found the envelope that our payment had gone it . . . with the postmark on it.

*whew*

Date: 2003-08-08 08:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dire-epiphany.livejournal.com
Yes, I was very glad about that!

The IRS is such a scary entity. I think because I grew up hearing all the horror stories about the IRS it triggers a bit of phobic response in me whenever they are involved in something.

I am glad your episode with them worked out ok too!

I have to say, they have been really nice to me about working out payment plans, etc. My Dad said they almost have to be overly nice now because they do have such a bad reputation.

July 2009

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324 25
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios