cassy_g: (Default)
[personal profile] cassy_g
So, Friday night my mother-in-law called and said she, my father-in-law and one of my brother-in-laws was coming up to roof.

For those of you that don't know, I live in a big contemporary house that must have at least five different roofs. Two of the roofs are only 11 years old now, the others are 27 years old.

Last year, it got to the point that two of the roofs needed to be redone, RIGHT THEN, because yes, they were leaking. So my mother-in-law and father-in-law took my brother-in-law to Home Depot and they bought all the supplies to redo the three older roofs. While this was very much appreciated, what it meant was that *we* were going to be doing the roofing ourselves.

We managed to get two of the three done last year, before the serious parts of winter hit. This left the one roof that while old, at least doesn't leak.

This is completely me being all kinds of neurotic, but even though I am still sick and have been sick since just after Dragon*Con, I was up really early making sure everything was clean.

When they got here, I spent the day moving bundles (which weigh around 75 lbs each I think) of shingles from down by our garage, up to the second floor deck, then up onto the roof. My father-in-law and mother-in-law were helping with this, but it's still a lot of work. In between, we were loading up wheelbarrels with the stripped shingles and moving them down to a pile beside the garage on the car port we have. Next week, I have to get a dumpster delivered so we can properly dispose of said stripped shingles.

I spent all day Saturday doing this, and I mean all day, from dawn until sunset. Should I be surprised that I am coughing my lungs out at this point? Not to mention ever muscle in my body aches. Although that in of itself isn't such a bad thing. However, even though I slept for a little while, I was up at 2:30 am with coughing fits. And I have another day of shingle moving to look forward to.

Don't get me wrong in this, I really do appreciate that my in-laws are here and helping with the re-roofing and all. And I think there's some level of self-responsibility or something like that which compells me to work and help them even though I should be in bed resting. I mean, it's my house, so I feel like I should be participating in the re-roofing.

I just wish it hadn't been on a weekend I was already sick.

Ah well, I have to get dressed now, re-roofing begins again in about 20 minutes.

Date: 2003-09-14 01:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eugie.livejournal.com
Agh! You should be resting and recuperating, not roofing!!

Date: 2003-09-15 03:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dire-epiphany.livejournal.com
Yea, I know... such is life sometimes. It's mostly done, but now I have a whole week of moving the old roofing from my carport (where it fell) into a big dumpster. I really wish I'd had some notice so I could have had the dumpster in place when they started. Sure I would still have old roofing to move, but it sure wouldn't have been so much.

The really bad thing is I will be doing most of all that by myself, since everyone else will be at their jobs and school and such.

We're going to be tearing down our front deck too, so it can be rebuilt, but I figure while the dumpster is here, best go ahead and get rid of the garbage.

Of course, the good news is, I get to have a new roof and a new front deck, yay! :)

Date: 2003-09-15 03:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] astralfire.livejournal.com
You know with me riding the buss I am a lot less stressed when I get home. I will help out one night I think we can just knock that stuff out. I should start hauling stuff down from my room that I want to toss out also and just do it all at once.

And You...get back in bed.

July 2009

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324 25
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios