cassy_g: (Default)
[personal profile] cassy_g
The following article offends me on every level. In fact, it offends me so very much, that I am left questioning not only my beliefs, but any shakey faith I still had in our world I fear I have lost.

Read for yourself:

Mother of mauling victim feared family dog

Shut boy in basement while she ran errands

Monday, June 13, 2005 Posted: 2:43 AM EDT (0643 GMT)

SAN FRANCISCO, California (AP) -- The mother of a 12-year-old boy killed in his own home by one of the family's two pit bulls says she had been so concerned about one of the dogs that she shut her son in the basement to protect him.

Maureen Faibish said she ordered Nicholas to stay in the basement while she did errands on June 3, the day he was attacked by one or both of the dogs.

She said she was worried about the male dog, Rex, who was acting possessive because the female, Ella, was in heat.

"I put him down there, with a shovel on the door," Faibish said in an interview with the San Francisco Chronicle. "And I told him: 'Stay down there until I come back.' Typical Nicky, he wouldn't listen to me."

Nicholas apparently found a way to open the basement door.

Despite her concerns about Rex that day, Faibish told the newspaper: "My kids got along great with (the dogs). We were never seeing any kind of violent tendencies."

Faibish found her son's body in a bedroom. He was covered in blood from several wounds, including a major head injury.

No charges have been filed.

"It's Nicky's time to go," she said in the interview. "When you're born you're destined to go and this was his time."

Ella was shot to death by a police officer the day of the attack.

Rex was taken to a shelter, but Faibish said she wanted him put down.

Original Story Located here: http://www.cnn.com/2005/US/06/12/fataldog.mauling.ap/index.html



For those of you that still can't see it (and I pray there are no people I call friends that can't see everything wrong with this):

1. Pit bulls are NOT vicious dogs by nature. They are what they are raised to be, which unfortunately means many of them are neglected and mistreated to "make them better fighters". Most dogs will protect their owns and especially children from harm, and I have to wonder if that's what got Ella (the female pit bull shot). If Rex attacked Nicholas (and it seems he did) I have to wonder not only why, but what the dog was put through on a regular basis to act this way.

2. Ok, let's for a moment just throw out the window any logic at all when it comes to the nature of pit bulls and assume that in fact, Rex was some Cujo-esque beast. WHY would you lock your twelve-year old in the basement and not the dogs?! On top of that, WHY would you leave your twelve-year old home ALONE while you "ran errands"?! What, we couldn't take the child with us? We couldn't find a neighbor, or friend to watch him?! And ok, let's say you couldn't for some reason which I can not POSSIBLY grasp, but again, WHY THE HELL would you lock your SON in the basement and not the dogs?!

3. "Typical Nicky, he wouldn't listen to me." EXCUSE ME?! Is this not blaming the victim, who I might remind you all is a twelve-year old boy, for being OH MY GOD, a child?! PERHAPS if she hadn't locked him in the basement all alone, he wouldn't have been killed.

4. "My kids got along great with (the dogs). We were never seeing any kind of violent tendencies." Well then why in the fucking hell were you locking your son in the basement?! Oh and incidentally, "kids"?! How many do you have? Were THEY all locked in the basement? No? Gee why not?! And excuse me, didn't you just say thtat you were worried about Rex attacking Nicholas?!

5. "It's Nicky's time to go," she said in the interview. "When you're born you're destined to go and this was his time." Is she fucking insane?! How could she be so fucking cavelier about her own child?! I am telling you, if I came home and found Blake mauled to death, someone best fucking have a tranqualizer gun ready because I would have lost it. Not to mention, IT WAS HIS TIME TO GO?! Well PERHAPS if she hadn't left him locked in a basement it wouldn't have been.

6. NO CHARGES HAVE BEEN FILED. WHAT IN THE FUCKING HELL is wrong with these people?! How HOW is this not at the VERY LEAST negligence?! Someone needs to have an autopsy done on this child. I am willing to bet you that he was dead before the dogs got to him - and it wouldn't suprise me if Mommy-Fucking-Dearest over there was the one that did it.

7. Of course she wants Rex put down - because he's a vicious killer right? If the dog meant so fucking little to you - why not have him put to sleep BEFORE HE FUCKING KILLED YOUR CHILD?! And don't give me the fucking bullshit pansy assed line about "ooohhh woooeee is me, I never thought he would REALLY hurt Nicholas,,," Then why the fuck were you locking him in the basement again??

I am utterly morally OUTRAGED that this could happen, AND that it could go utterly uncared about and unpunished.

You want to know why the few kids that survive to adulthood are bitter and unable to have empathy for others?! It's because in this country, our kids are nothing but status symbols and property - you treat them that way, it's what they grow up believing, and then when they are big enough, they make sure to try to prove they are more than that, even if it means turning into one of the monsters themselves.

That is, when they manage to survive past twelve.

Date: 2005-06-14 01:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bevlovesbooks.livejournal.com
OH MY GOD. Why is this stupid woman not in jail? I totally agree that your pets are what you allow them to be. I know that my dog likes to jump up on people, so we crate her when someone comes to the door. She's a lab and just LOVES people and is in no way being mean or aggressive.

Anyway, I'm with you 110% on this one.

P.S. How ya doin, sweetie?

Mandatory Sterilization

Date: 2005-06-16 06:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] billymack.livejournal.com
This is why I favor sterilization for convicted felons. I guarantee you this woman has a record (although it's probably a misdemeanor record unless she's been popped for drugs). And it's not too late. She's probably not even 30 yet, so she still has a few years left.

As a side note, it should be pretty obvious to the police that responded if the scene was staged. It would be hard to confuse an assault by a person and an assault by the dog. The blood pattern and the injuries should tell a pretty clear story. Staging is hard to do, and it's especially hard when you're as stupid and negligent as this woman is.

July 2009

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
192021222324 25
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios